Evidence that there has been a church on this site since the early 13th century is provided by the chancel arch with its massive semi-circular pillars and moulded capitals. The tub font was discarded and much abused until it was restored is in use today and is thought to date from the same time. The church was rebuilt in the 14th century and an embattled tower was built over the north aisle. Beneath the chancel arch, the church had a medieval rood-loft on which stood the crucifix with its figures of the Virgin Mary and St John on either side, and at the west end a singers ‘gallery’ was built in 1766.
In 1843 the tower was declared unsafe and the whole church was in poor repair; it was also too small for the congregation. So the work to virtually rebuild the church was started. The north tower was demolished and replaced by the present tower at the west end. The north aisle was rebuilt and extended to the length of the south aisle and a small vestry was built on the north side of the chancel. The rood-loft was removed, so was the singers gallery, to be replaced by an organ loft, and some windows were removed and others modified. At the same time the church was re-pewed much as it is today, creating 200 additional seatings, giving a total of 390, of which 218 were free, including 54 for children. The architect was John Plowman of Oxford who had considerable experience of such work in various churches and colleges. The builder was Robert Franklin of Deddington, a highly esteemed firm with an international reputation in church furnishing. The cost of the work amounted to some £1575 and was met by private subscription, grants from New College and the Incorporated Church Building Society, and from other sources.
2017/2018 | £2000