Salvation Army Citadel
The Salvation Army began its work in Banbury in 1885. The site in George Street (formerly Fish Street) was purchased in 1889 for the sum of £500, and a Fortress-style hall built, completed early the following year. The Hall was renovated in 1939 and the interior was completely reconstructed in 1978/9. The founder of the Salvation Army, General William Booth, visited Banbury on two occasions and his grand-daughter, Commissioner Catherine Bramwell-Booth re-opened the Hall in 1979. This charming building in the town centre remains the base for Worship meetings and spiritual life together, and for community and outreach work.